Batul - to nullify. Batul refers to a situation when a small amount of one food is accidentally mixed into a larger amount of a different food. When the ratio is one part to 60 parts or less, the smaller ingredient is generally considered to be null and void.
- Bishul Yisroel
Chodosh, literally, new, refers to the grain (wheat, barley, oats, rye, and spelt) that has not taken root before Passover. It is called "new grain." Its consumption may be restricted until the following Passover. Click here for chodosh articles.
- Cholov Yisroel
Fleishig - meat, denotes meat and poultry products, as well as dishes and utensils used in their preparation.
- Glatt Kosher
Glatt is the Yiddish word meaning smooth, and refers to beef from kosher slaughtered animals whose lungs are free of adhesions. Kosher consumers who are very stringent in accepting only high standards of kosher, demand that all meat products be "glatt." The term is often mistakenly used to differentiate food items which have higher standards of kashruth from those which have a more relaxed level of kosher certification.
Click here for "Beware: Glatt May Not Always Be Kosher" article.
Halacha, literally, the path that one walks. It refers to Jewish Law, the complete body of rules and practices that Jews are bound to follow, including biblical commandments, directives of the Rabbis, and binding customs.
Hashgacha, literally, supervision, generally refers to kosher supervision.
Hechsher refers to the certification of a kosher product or ingredient, given by a Rabbi or a kosher supervisory agency.
Kasher - to make kosher, usually applied to the salting and soaking procedures used in the production of kosher meat and poultry. The term is also used to describe the kosherization procedure of a non-kosher facility or utensil, so that it may be used in the preparation of kosher food.
Kashruth - the state of being kosher.
Keilim - vessels or utensils.
- Kli Rishon, Kli Sheni, Kli Shlishi
Kli rishon, literally the first utensil, refers to a utensil that is used for cooking, baking or roasting food or liquid, and contains that hot food or liquid. When hot food or liquid is transferred from the kli rishon into a second utensil, this utensil is called a kli sheni. A kli shlishi is the third utensil into which hot food or liquid is transferred.
Kosher is the Hebrew word meaning fit or proper, designating foods whose ingredients and manufacturing procedures comply with Jewish dietary laws.
Kosherization - the process of changing the status of equipment which had been used with non-kosher ingredients or products, to use with kosher ingredients or products.
Mashgiach - one who is trained to supervise kosher food production.
Mehadrin refers to the most stringent level of kosher supervision.
Mikvah, literally, gathering, refers to a structure, a ritualarium, in which water is gathered for purposes of immersion.
Milchig - dairy, refers to dairy products as well as dishes, utensils, and equipment used in their preparation.
Pareve - neutral, indicates a product which contains no derivatives of poultry, meat, or dairy ingredients and can therefore be eaten with either a meat, poultry or dairy meal. Pareve items include all fruits, vegetables, legumes, grains, eggs, kosher fish, etc.
- Pas Yisroel
Pas Yisroel refers to baked goods prepared in ovens which are turned on by the mashgiach.
Shochet - one who is specially trained to slaughter kosher meat and poultry according to the Jewish tradition.
- Tevilas Keilim
To dip or immerse in a ritualarium (mikvah).
Treifah refers to food that is not kosher. The term is generally used to refer to all foods, vessels, and utensils that are not kosher. Literally, it means an animal whose flesh was torn or ripped.
Yoshon, literally, old, refers to the grain that has taken root before Pesach, even if it is harvested after Pesach. It is called "old grain." It is permitted to be eaten without restriction. When a product is yoshon, it means that yoshon grains, including wheat, barley, oats, rye, spelt, were used in its preparation. Click here for yoshon articles.
Chometz refers to food products containing any grain (wheat, barley, rye, oats,or spelt) or grain derivative, not specially prepared for Passover use.
- Chometz Gamur
Chometz gamur, colloquially called "real chometz," refers to products containing fermented grains. These products are biblically prohibited on Passover.
Kitniyos - legumes, are those grains that can be cooked and baked in a fashionsimilar to chometz grain and yet are not considered, in the eyes of halacha, tobe in the same category as chometz. Some examples are rice, corn, peas,mustard seed, and the whole bean family (i.e. kidney, lima, garbanzo, etc.). It iscustomary for Jews of Ashkenazic descent to refrain from eating kitniyos onPassover.
- Kosher for Passover
Kosher for Passover - foods acceptable for use during the Passover holidaywhich require special preparation. See "chometz".
Matzoh - specially prepared unleavened bread which is acceptable for Passoveruse.
Passover - Pesach in Hebrew - is the Jewish holiday commemorating theexodus from Egypt, observed in the spring.
Seder - order. A seder is the Jewish ritual conducted as part of the observance of Passover. The Haggada, the text from which the seder is conducted, contains the precise order of the prayers, song, discussion, story-telling, eating of ritual foods and the festive meal.